counter
Counseling

Welcome to the Benet Academy Counseling Department
The Counseling Department offers comprehensive services to students as they enter high school.  Benet provides professional support to all students throughout their four years. Students are assigned a counselor in their freshman year, and they stay with this counselor through their junior year.  Seniors are assigned to college counselors who specialize in the college search and admission process.  Students begin working with their college counselor during junior year.

Counseling Department Scope of Services

  • Academic, college, career, and personal/social assistance
  • Group guidance sessions on various topics
  • Freshman and Sophomore advisory program
  • Career speaker program
  • Transfer student orientation and transfer buddy program
  • PSAT, Pre-ACT, and AP testing
  • Peer tutoring arrangements
  • Consultation/Collaboration with teachers, parents, administrators, colleges, and outside professionals, as needed
  • Parent programs
  • Counseling and College Counseling Newsletters
  • Information dissemination and communication through announcements, email, Naviance, Portals, and Benet website
  • College visits – Approximately 150-175 colleges and universities visit Benet each year.  The majority of these visits occur during the first semester.
Counseling center-Located on the first floor of St. Joseph Hall 
  • College and career information
  • Counselor offices


If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at 630-719-2792 or email us at -

Debbie Eckert           Counselor O-Z                  deckert@benet.org

Nicole Kothe             Counselor H-N                  nkothe@benet.org

Gerard Oconer         Counselor A-G                   goconer@benet.org

Theresa Wright        College Counselor O-Z      twright@benet.org

Laura Lundstrom    College Counselor H-N      llundstrom@benet.org 

Amy Wesley             College Counselor A-G        awesley@benet.org

Pat Cunneen            Administrative Assistant     pcunneen@benet.org