counter
Counseling

Welcome to the Benet Academy Counseling Department

The Counseling Department offers comprehensive services to students as they enter high school.  Benet provides professional support to all students throughout their four years. Students are assigned a counselor in their freshman year and stay with this counselor through their junior year.  Seniors are assigned to college counselors who specialize in the college search and admission process.  Students begin working with their college counselor during junior year. 


Counseling Department Scope of Services

  • Academic, college, career, and personal/social assistance
  • Freshman and Sophomore advisory program
  • Career speaker program
  • Transfer student orientation and transfer buddy program
  • PSAT, Pre-ACT, and AP testing
  • Peer tutoring arrangements
  • Consultation/Collaboration with teachers, parents, administrators, colleges, and outside professionals, as needed
  • Parent programs
  • Counseling and College Counseling Newsletters
  • Information dissemination and communication through announcements, email, Naviance, Portals, and Benet website
  • College visits – Approximately 150-175 colleges and universities visit Benet each year.  The majority of these visits occur during the first semester.

Counseling Center
Located on the first floor of St. Joseph Hall 

  • College and career information
  • Counselor offices


If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at 630-719-2792 or email 

Debbie Eckert           

Counselor O-Z                 

deckert@benet.org

Nicole Kothe            

Counselor H-N                 

nkothe@benet.org

Gerard Oconer

Counselor A-G 

goconer@benet.org

Theresa Wright       

College Counselor O-Z

twright@benet.org

Laura Lundstrom   

College Counselor H-N     

llundstrom@benet.org 

Amy Wesley             

College Counselor A-G       

awesley@benet.org

Pat Cunneen            

Administrative Assistant     

pcunneen@benet.org